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FINAL REGULATION ORDER

Adopt new section 1108, new Article 3, Division 11, title 16, California Code of
Regulations to read as foilows:

(Note: Article 3 is new, and the entire text of section 1108 is new language to be added to
the Califomnia Code of Regulations.)

Title 16, Professional and Vocational Regulations
Division 11. Dental Hygiene Committee of California

Article 3. Educational Programs
§ 1108. Remedial Education.

{a) Approval of Remedial Education Course. ' '
The Committee shall approve only those educational courses for remedial education
pursuant to section 1917.3 of the Code that continuously meet all course requirements.
Each approved course shall be subject to review by the Committes at any time.
Continuation of approval will be contingent upon compliance with these requirements.

(1) Aremedial course shall offer instruction in the following skills:

(A) Dental hygiene assessment and development, planning and implementation of a
 dental hygiene care plan;
(B) Exploration and detection of calculus, and periodontal probing;
(C) Hand and sonic or ultrasonic instrumentation to remove plaque biofilm and calculus;
(D) Administration of local anesthesia, nitrous oxide oxygen analgesia and
performance of soft tissue curettage;

(E) Appropriate use of materials and devices used in dental hygiene practice; and

(F) Process of developing, reviewing and documenting outcomes of treatment
and interventions provided to patients.

(G} All laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of dental hygiene.

(2) An applicant course provider shall submit an “Application for Approval of a Course in
Remedial Education,” DHCC RE-01(05/2015) hereby incorporated by reference,

accompanied by the appropriate fee, for approval of a new course and shall receive
approval prior to operation,

(3) All courses shall be at the postsecondary educational level in an approved dental
hygiene educational program.

(4) Each approved course shall consist.of a combination of didactic, laboratory, and
clinical instruction and provide a minimum of 50 hours of remedial education.

(5) Each approved course shall submit a biennial report “Remedial Education Provider
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Biennial Report” DHCC RE-03 (12/2013) hereby incorporated by reference.

(b) Requirements for Approval of Course in Remedial Education.

(1) Administration. In order to be approved, each course shall provide the resources
necessary to accomplish education as specified in this section. Course providers
shall be responsible for informing the Committee of any changes to the course
content, physical fagilities, and faculty, within 10 days of such changes. In order to
be eligible for admission to the course, the course provider shall require course
applicants to:

(A) Provide evidence of failure to pass a clinical examination as set forth in
section 1917.3 of the Code or provide a probationary order ordering the
student fo attend a remedial education course offered under this section;

(B) Provide evidence of current certification in Basic Life Support for health care

providers as required by section 1016(b)(1)(C) of Article 4 of Chapter 1 of
Division 10 of title 16, California Code of Regulations (CCR); and

(C) Provide evidence of graduation from an educational program for dental
hygienists approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation or an
equivalent accrediting body approved by the Committee.

(2) Faculty. Pre-clinical and clinical faculty, including course director and
supervising dentist(s) shall:

(A) Possess a valid, active California license with no disciplinary actions at any time in
any jurisdiction to practice dentistry or dental hygiene for at least two (2) years

- immediately preceding any provision of course instruction;

(B) Provide pre-clinical and clinical instruction only in procedures within the scope of
practice of their respective licenses; and,

(C) Complete an educational methodology course within the last two (2) years: and

(D) Be calibrated in instruction and grading by the course provider.

(3) Facilities and Equipment. Pre-clinical and clinical instruction shall be held at a physical
facility. Physical facilities and equipment shall be maintained and replaced in a manner
designed to provide students with a course designed to meet the educational objectives

set forth in this section. A physical facility shall have all of the following for use by the
students:

(A) A lecture classroom, a patient clinic area, laboratory, and a radiology area.
(B) Access to equipment necessary to develop dental hygiene skills.

(C) Infection control equipment shall be provided as described in CCR, fitle 16,
Division 10, Chapter 1, Article 1, section 1005.

(4) Health and Safety. A course provider shall comply with local, state, and federal
health and safety laws and regulations.

(A) All students shall have access to the course’s hazardous waste management plan
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for the disposal of needles, cartridges, medical waste and storage of oxygen and
nitrous oxide tanks.

(B) All students shall have access to the course’s clinic and radiation hazardous
communication plan.

(C) All students shall receive a copy of the course’s bloodborne and infectious diseases
exposure control plan, which shall include emergency needlestick information.
Faculty shall review with each student the information listed in (A) — (C).

(5) Remedial Education. Remedial education shall be given in a dental hygiene program
approved by the Committee. Each course shall provide students the clinical

facilities, equipment, and resources necessary to accomplish remedial education as
provided in this section.

(6) Recordkeeping. A course provider shall possess and maintain the following for a
period of not less than 5 years:

(A) Individual student records, including those necessary to establish satisfactory
completion of the course.

(B) Copies of individual student remedial education plans.

(C) Copies of lab and clinical competency documents.

(D) A copy of faculty calibration plan, faculty credentials, licenses, and certifications

including documented background in educational methodology within previous two
years.

(E) Copies of student course evaluations and a summation thereof.
(F) Copies of curriculum, including course syllabi, exams, sample test
questions and clinic rubrics.

(7) Curriculum and Learning Resources.

(A) The organization of the curriculum for remedial education shall be flexible, creating
opportunities for adjustments in instruction in the skills listed in subdivision (a)(1) of
this section.

(B) Curriculum shall include methods to assess and evaluate students’ skills in order to
create an individualized plan for remedial education.

(C) A remedial education plan shall include learning outcomes, results of assessments
of student skills to be remediated, methods of remediation, measures to evaluate
didactic and clinical competency and criteria for completion.

(D) Curriculum shall prepare the student to assess, plan, implement and evaluate
procedures as provided in subdivision (a}(1) of this section to perform with
competence and judgment.

(E) Curriculum shall require adherence to infection control standards as provided in
section 1005, title 16, CCR.

(F) Students shall be provided a course syllabus that contains:

(i) Course learning outcomes;

(ii) Titles of references used for course materials;

(iii) Content objectives; and

(iv) Grading criteria which includes competency evaluations and lab and
clinic rubrics to include problem solving and critical thinking skills that
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reflect course learning outcomes.
(G) Successful completion shall require students to achieve competency at a
minimum of 75% in each of the skills to be remediated. :

(c) Certificate of Completion. A course provider shall issue and provide the Committee with
an original “Certification of Completion of Remedial Education Course,” DHCC RE-02
(12/2013), hereby incorporated by reference, only after a student has successfully
completed the requirements of his or her remedial education plan,

(d) Appeals.

(1) The Committes may deny or withdraw its approval of a course. If the Committee
denies or withdraws approval of a course, the reasons for withdrawal or denial will be
provided in writing within ninety (90) days. '

(2) Any course provider or applicant whose approval is denied or withdrawn shall be
granted an informal conference before the Executive Officer or his or her designee
prior to the effective date of such action. The applicant or course provider shall be
given at least ten days’ notice of the time and place of such informal conference and
the specific grounds for the proposed action.

(3) The applicant or course provider may contest the denial or withdrawal of approval
by either:

pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1
of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. Or;

(B) Notifying the Committee in writing the course provider's election to forego the
informal conference and to procesd with a hearing pursuant to the provisions of
Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1905 and 1906, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections 1917.3 and 1944, Business and Professions Code.
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Application for Approval of Course in Remedial Education
Business & Professions Code § 1917.3 and § 1944, and Title 16, CCR, § 1108.

Non-Refundable Fee: $300 (Must accompany app]ication)' Receipt RC
Date filed $
Approved Denied
RP#
Course Provider Phone Number

Email Address

Name and Title of Course Director

Affiliated Dental Hygiene or Dental Program

Mailing Address of Course Provider* City State Zip

*Course provider mailing address is public. If you wish to provide a P.O. Box, you must also provide a physical address and
be sure to specify that the physical address is not to be used as your address of record.

Requirements for Course

A course must be approved prior to operation. Each approved course must submit a biennial report. Course
records shall be subject to inspection by the Committee at any time. The Committee may withdraw approval at
any time that it determines that a course does not meet the requirements of the law. Course providers must
inform the Committee of any changes to course content, faculty and physical facilities within 10 days.

1. Will the course offer remedial instruction in assessment and probing, exploration and
detection of calculus, hand and sonic or ultrasonic instrumentation to remove plaque biofilm
and calculus, administration of local anesthesia and nitrous oxide-oxygen analgesia and
performance of periodontal soft tissue curettage, appropriate use of materials and devices
used within dental hygiene practice, process of developing, reviewing and documenting
outcomes of treatment and interventions provided to patients?
Yes | No [ ]

DHCC RE-01 (05/2015)



2. Course Faculty Informatio,.

Out-of- Date of
License License License State e
Name e g Educational
Type No. Expiration License
Methodology
Status

(Attach additional sheets if needed)

Course director and clinical and preclinical faculty must possess a valid, active California license for at
least two years. Attach copies of each license and proof of education in educational methodology for all
faculty and faculty calibration plan. Certification for all out-of-state licenses ever held by course faculty
must be provided.

3. Will there be a lecture classroom, patient clinic area and radiology area for use by students?
Attach a facility site map indicating each of these areas.
Yes | ] No[_]

4. Will all students have access to equipment necessary to develop dental hygiene skills in the duties being
taught pursuant to Section 1108(b)(3)?
Yes[ | No [ ]

5. Will faculty review with each student the hazardous waste management plan for disposal of needles,
cartridges, medical waste, storage of nitrous oxide and oxygen tanks and the course’s clinic and radiation
hazardous communication plan? Attach a copy of both the hazardous waste management and hazardous

communication plan.
ves[ | No [ ]

6. Will all students receive a copy of the bloodbarne and infectious diseases exposure control plan,
including the emergency needlestick information? Attach a copy as provided to students.

ves [ | No [ ]

7. Will the course clearly state curriculum subject matter, specific instruction hours in the individual areas of
didactic, pre-clinical and clinical instruction, and include written course and specific instructional learning
outcomes that will be accomplished within the framework of the course, including theoretical aspects of
each subject as well as practical application? Attach a copy of sample curriculum, including student
evaluation mechanism.

ves | ] No [ ]

8. Will the course’s duration allow a student to develop competence in all necessary areas of
instruction? Attach a sample course schedule.

Yes| ] No[ ]

DHCC RE-01 (05/2015)




Recordkeeping

9. Will you retain for at least 5 years copies of curriculum, syllabi, exams, sample test questions and clinic
rubrics, copies of faculty credentials, faculty calibration plan and individual student records including evaluations
and summations thereof pursuant to Title 16, Division 11 of the California Code of Regulations?

Yes |_—_I NO |:|

10. Will each student be issued a certificate of successful completion only after achievement of a minimum of
75% in each competency and has successfully completed the requirements of his or her remedial education

plan?
Yes I:I NO |:|

Acknowledgement

11. Have you reviewed Business & Professions Code §1909 and Title 16, Division 11 of the California Code
of Regulations? :

12. Do you agree to abide by the requirements set forth in Business & Professions Code §1909, and Title 16,
Division 11 of the California Code of Regutations? Do you acknowledge that failure to do so may result in loss of
course approval?

The Committee may approve or deny approval of any course. If the Committee denies approval of a
course, the reasons for denial will be provided in writing within 90 days.

Certification

I certify under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the statements made in
the application are frue and correct, '

Signature of Course Director or designee ' Date

Printed Name of Course Director or designee Date

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS

The information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Hygiene Committee of
California, 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2050, Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-1978, in
accordance with Business & Professions Code, §1900 et seq. The information requested will be used to
determine eligibility. Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the
application as Incomplete. Each individual has the right to review his or her own personal information maintainad
by the agency as set forth in the Information Practices Act unless the records are exempt from disclosure.
Applicants are advised that.the names(s) and address(os) submitted may, under limited circumstances, be made
public,

DHCC RE-01 (05/2015)




DEN”  HYGIENE COMMITTEE OF CALIl NIA

CERTIFICATION OF COMPLETION OF
REMEDIAL EDUCATION COURSE

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT
COURSE PARTICIPANT NAME

LAST FIRST MIDDLE ~ DATE OF BIRTH
ADDRESS

Ty STATE ZIP

HOME PHONE CELL PHONE EMAIL ADDRESS

( ) ( )

DENTAL HYGIENE COMMITTEE OF CALIFORNIA (DHCC) COURSE PROVIDER INFORMATION

NAME

DATES OF COURSE

ADDRESS (This information is public. You may provide a P.0. Box. If you provide a physical address to the Committee, be
sure to specify that the physical address is not to be used as the address of record.

CITY STATE ZIP

PHONE

( )

COURSE PROVIDER'S EMAIL ADDRESS (optional)

PLEASE ATTACH COURSE PARTICIPANT’S REMEDIAL EDUCATION PLAN

| HEREBY CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY UNDER THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF
CALIFORNIA THAT THE COURSE PARTICIPANT ABOVE SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED A DHCC-
APPROVED COURSE AND DEMONSTRATED CLINICAL COMPETENCY PURSUANT TO CALIFORNIA

CODE OF REGULATIONS §1108.
STAMP OR SEAL OF
[ COURSE PROVIDER ]

OR INSTITUTION

. RINTED NAME OF COURSE INSTRUCTOR OR DIRECTOR

SIGNATURE

DHCC RE-02 (12/2013)
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Remedial Education Provider Biennial Report

Date:
COURSE PROVIDER PROVIDER NO.
MAILING ADDRESS PHONE NO.
NAME OF COURSE DIRECTOR EMAIL ADDRESS
NAME OF COURSE
DATES COURSE OFFERED NUMBER OF HOURS
NUMBER OF ATTENDEES NUMBER OF CERTIFICATES ISSUED

CHANGES IN COURSE SINCE THE LAST BIENNIAL REPORT, OR, IF THIS IS THE FIRST BIENNIAL REPORT, SINCE
COURSE APPROVAL.

IN COMPLETING THIS FORM, PLEASE CONSULT THE REGULATIONS GOVERNING REMEDIAL EDUCATION AT SECTION
1108 OF TITLE 16 OF THE CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS.

DHCC RE-03(12/2013)



