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TITLE 16 

California Code of Regulations 
Professional and Vocational Regulations 

Division 11 
Dental Hygiene Committee of California 
ARTICLE 3. EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS 

 
Modified Text 

Changes to the originally proposed language are indicated by single strikeout for deleted 
text and by single underline for added text and are highlighted for ease of location. 
 
§1108. Remedial Education. 
(a) Approval of Remedial Education Course. 
The Committee shall approve only those educational courses for remedial education pursuant to 
section 1917.3 of the Code that continuously meet all course requirements.  Each approved 
course shall be subject to review by the Committee at any time.  Continuation of approval will be 
contingent upon compliance with these requirements. 

(1)  A remedial course shall offer instruction in the following skills: 
(A) Dental hygiene assessment and development, planning and implementation of a 

dental hygiene care plan; 
(B) Exploration and detection of calculus, and periodontal probing; 
(C) Hand and sonic or ultrasonic instrumentation to remove plaque biofilm and calculus;  
(D) Administration of local anesthesia, nitrous oxide oxygen analgesia and performance 

of soft tissue curettage; 
(E) Appropriate use of materials and devices used in dental hygiene practice; and 
(F) Process of developing, reviewing and documenting outcomes of treatment and 

interventions provided to patients. 
(G) All laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of dental hygiene. 

(2) An applicant course provider shall submit an “Application for Approval of a Course in 
Remedial Education,” DHCC RE-01(12/201305/2015) hereby incorporated by reference, 
accompanied by the appropriate fee, for approval of a new course and shall receive approval 
prior to operation. 
(3) All courses shall be at the postsecondary educational level in an approved dental hygiene 
educational program. 
(4) Each approved course shall consist of a combination of didactic, laboratory, and clinical 
instruction and provide a minimum of 50 hours of remedial education. 
(5) Each approved course shall submit a biennial report “Report of a Course in Remedial 
Education” DHCC RE-03 (12/2013) hereby incorporated by reference. 

(b) Requirements for Approval of Course in Remedial Education. 
(1) Administration. In order to be approved, each course shall provide the resources 
necessary to accomplish education as specified in this section. Course providers shall be 
responsible for informing the Committee of any changes to the course content, physical 
facilities, and faculty, within 10 days of such changes. 
In order to be eligible for admission to the course, the course provider shall require course 
applicants to: 

(A) Provide evidence of failure to pass a clinical examination as set forth in section 
1917.3 of the Code or provide a probationary order ordering the student to 
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attend a remedial education course offered under this section; 
(B) Provide evidence of current certification in Basic Life Support for health care 

providers as required by Section 1016(b)(1)(C) of Article 4 of Chapter 1 of Division 
10 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR); and 

(C) Provide evidence of graduation from an educational program for dental hygienists 
approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation or an equivalent accrediting 
body approved by the Committee. 

(2) Faculty. Pre-clinical and clinical faculty, including course director and supervising 
dentist(s) shall: 

(A) Possess a valid, active California license with no disciplinary actions at any time in any 
jurisdiction  to practice dentistry or dental hygiene for at least two (2) years 
immediately preceding any provision of course instruction; 

(B) Provide pre-clinical and clinical instruction only in procedures within the scope of 
practice of their respective licenses; and, 

(C) Complete an educational methodology course within the last two (2) years; and 
(D) Be calibrated in instruction and grading by the course provider. 

(3) Facilities and Equipment. Pre-clinical and clinical instruction shall be held at a physical 
facility.  Physical facilities and equipment shall be maintained and replaced in a manner 
designed to provide students with a course designed to meet the educational objectives set 
forth in this section. A physical facility shall have all of the following for use by the students: 

(A) A lecture classroom, a patient clinic area, laboratory, and a radiology area.  
(B) Access to equipment necessary to develop dental hygiene skills. 
(C) Infection control equipment shall be provided as described in CCR Title 16, Division 
11 10, Chapter 1, Article 1, Section 1005. 

(4) Health and Safety. A course provider shall comply with local, state, and federal health 
and safety laws and regulations. 

(A) All students shall have access to the course’s hazardous waste management plan 
for the disposal of needles, cartridges, medical waste and storage of oxygen and 
nitrous oxide tanks. 

(B) All students shall have access to the course’s clinic and radiation hazardous 
communication plan. 

(C) All students shall receive a copy of the course’s bloodborne and infectious diseases 
exposure control plan, which shall include emergency needlestick information. 

Faculty shall review with each student the information listed in (A) – (C). 
(5) Remedial Education. Remedial education shall be given in a dental hygiene program 
approved by the Committee.  Each course shall provide students the clinical facilities, 
equipment, and resources necessary to accomplish remedial education as provided in this 
section. 
(6) Recordkeeping. A course provider shall possess and maintain the following for a period 
of not less than 5 years: 

(A) Individual student records, including those necessary to establish satisfactory 
completion of the course. 

(B) Copies of individual student remedial education plans.  
(C) Copies of lab and clinical competency documents. 
(D) A copy of faculty calibration plan, faculty credentials, licenses, and certifications 
including documented background in educational methodology within previous two years. 
(E) Copies of student course evaluations and a summation thereof. 
(F) Copies of curriculum, including course syllabi, exams, sample test questions 
and clinic rubrics.  

(7) Curriculum and Learning Resources. 
(A) The organization of the curriculum for remedial education shall be flexible, creating 
opportunities for adjustments in instruction in the skills listed in subdivision (a)(1) of this 
section. 
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(B) Curriculum shall include methods to assess and evaluate students’ skills in order to 
create an individualized plan for remedial education. 
(C) A remedial education plan shall include learning outcomes, results of assessments 
of student skills to be remediated, methods of remediation, measures to evaluate 
didactic and clinical competency and criteria for completion. 
(D) Curriculum shall prepare the student to assess, plan, implement and evaluate 
procedures as provided in subdivision (a)(1) of this section to perform with competence 
and judgment. 
(E) Curriculum shall require adherence to infection control standards as provided 

Section 1005 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations. 
(F) Students shall be provided a course syllabus that contains: 

(i) Course learning outcomes; 
(ii) Titles of references used for course materials; 
(iii) Content objectives; and 
(iv) Grading criteria which includes competency evaluations and lab and clinic 
rubrics to include problem solving and critical thinking skills that reflect course 
learning outcomes. 

(G) Successful completion shall require students to achieve competency at a minimum 
of 75% in each of the skills to be remediated. 

(c) Certificate of Completion.  A course provider shall issue and provide the Committee with an 
original “Certification of Completion of Remedial Education Course,” DHCC RE-02 (12/2013), 
hereby incorporated by reference, only after a student has successfully completed the 
requirements of his or her remedial education plan. 
(d) Appeals. 

(1)The Committee may deny or withdraw its approval of a course. If the Committee denies 
or withdraws approval of a course, the reasons for withdrawal or denial will be provided in 
writing within ninety (90) days. 
(2) Any course provider or applicant whose approval is denied or withdrawn shall be granted 
an informal conference before the Executive Officer or his or her designee prior to the 
effective date of such action.  The applicant or course provider shall be given at least ten 
days’ notice of the time and place of such informal conference and the specific grounds for 
the proposed action. 
(3) The applicant or course provider may contest the denial or withdrawal of approval by 
either: 

(A) Appearing at the informal conference. The Executive Officer shall notify the course 
provider of the final decision of the Executive Officer within ten days of the informal 
conference.  Based on the outcome of the informal conference, the course provider may 
then request a hearing to contest the Executive Officer’s final decision.  A course 
provider shall request a hearing by written notice to the Committee within 30 calendar 
days of the postmark date of the letter of the Executive Officer’s final decision after 
informal conference.  Hearings shall be held pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 5 
(commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government 
Code.  Or; 
(B) Notifying the Committee in writing the course provider’s election to forego the 
informal conference and to proceed with a hearing pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 
5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government 
Code.  Such notification shall be made to the Committee before the date of the informal 
conference. 

 
Note Authority cited: Sections 1905 and 1906, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Sections 1917.3 and 1944, Business and Professions Code. 


