
 
      

    
                                                  

 
  

  
  

  
 

   
 

  
   

 
  

 

  
 

  
 

    
   

   
  

   
  

 

 
 

 
  

   
  

 
 

   
 

 
 

   
 

 
   

   
   

 
   

    

  

  
    

 
  

 
 

 
 

    
 
  

   
    

 
  

 
  

 
 
         

  
   

 
  

 
       

  
  

 
  

 

 
 
        

 
 

    
 
         

    
 

   
   

   
 

 
   

  

DHCC CLINICAL APPLICATION INFORMATION
 
REGISTERED DENTAL HYGIENIST (RDH) (12/12)
 

Registered Dental Hygienists (RDH's) are 
licensed in California by the Dental Hygiene 
Committee of California. Applicants must pass 
both clinical and written examinations in ethics 
and California dental law and undergo a 
criminal history investigation, prior to receiving 
a license. 

Dental or hygiene education or licensure in 
another country is not recognized in California. 
Licensure in another State may qualify for 
Licensure by Credential which requires a 
different application and instructions. 

Effective January 1, 2013 

1917.3 Notwithstanding Section 135, an 
examinee for a registered dental hygienist 
license who either fails to pass the clinical 
examination required by Section 1917.3 after 
three attempts or fails to pass the clinical 
examination as a result of a single incidence of 
imposing gross trauma on a patient shall not 
be eligible for further re-examination until the 
examinee has successfully completed remedial 
education at an approved dental hygiene 
program  or a comparable organization 
approved by the committee. 

IT IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE TO PRACTICE 
AS A REGISTERED DENTAL HYGIENIST 
WITHOUT BEING  ISSUED A LICENSE. 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
1. Fee. Each application must be accompanied 
by a fee of $575.  Make the check payable to: 
DHCC. 

2. Re-Examination Applicants. Applicants 
who have taken and failed the examination 
within the last two years are only required to 
submit the application, and $575.00 fee, and 
two 1-1/2" X 1-1/2" photos. 
(Candidates may not submit a re-exam 
application form until results have been 
received from their last exam.) 
3. Requested Information.  All information 
requested must be supplied by applicant by the 
published application final filing date.  Each 
question must be answered fully, truthfully and 

accurately.  A false statement is a crime, and 
grounds for denial of licensure. 

If the space for any answer is insufficient, the 
answer shall be completed in space provided 
on the application or on an attachment signed 
by the applicant and specifying the number of 
the question to which it relates. 

4. Filing of Completed Application.  The 
COMPLETED application must be on file with 
the DHCC office by the published final filing 
date, not less than forty-five (45) days prior to 
the first examination date. In addition to the 
application and fee, you must submit ALL of 
the following.  If all required information and 
documents are not received as described 
below, you WILL NOT be permitted to sit for 
the examination. 

a.  Photographs. Two 1-1/2" X 1-1/2" 
head passport photographs of yourself taken 
within six (6) months of the examination must 
be submitted with your application in the coin 
envelope provided.  Be sure and write your 
name on the back of the photo. 

b. Fingerprints.  All First-Time applicants 
must have their fingerprints electronically 
scanned. The forms may be downloaded. 
http://www.dhcc.ca.gov/formspubs/form_livesc 
an_rdh.pdf 
The locations may be found on this page of 
the DHCC website. 
http://www.dhcc.ca.gov/formspubs/pub_finger 
prints.pdf 

c.  License Status Individuals licensed in 
any capacity in California and other states 
must include in their application certification of 
license status by all states in which licensed 
regardless of the status of the license. 

d. Graduation from an Accredited 
Program. Applicants must have graduated 
from an accredited dental hygiene program in 
order to apply for examination. The program 
director from which you graduated MUST 
complete question 9. If the program has not 
completed at the time the application is 
signed, the program director must send a 
letter at least 30 days prior to the exam 
verifying completion of the program. 

1 App_Instr 12-12 
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e. National Board Written Examination. 
Successful completion of the National Board of 
Dental Examiners' examination for dental 
hygienists is required. The original scorecard 
indicating successful completion must be 
received at least 30 days prior to the published 
deadline for the clinical examination. 

f.	 Verification of completion of California 
Board-approved courses. Certificates of 
completion of the following California 
Board-approved courses must be 
RECEIVED (not postmarked) in the 
DHCC office at least 30 days prior to the 
exam date: 

(1) gingival soft tissue curettage; 
(2) administration of local anesthetic 

agents; 
(3) administration of nitrous oxide-

oxygen analgesia 
This is not required for California dental hygiene graduates. 
5 Radiation Safety Certification ­
Non-California Graduates. Graduates of 
non-California programs must complete the 
radiation safety certification form and return it 
in order to be able to expose radiographs in  
California. 

6. Special Accommodations. Applicants 
whose religious beliefs preclude being 
examined on Saturday or Sunday must clip a 
note to the application stating the day on which 
they cannot take the exam and the reason why. 

If you have a disability and may require special 
accommodations, request and submit a 
"Request for Accommodation" with the 
application. If accommodation is not requested 
in advance, availability cannot be guaranteed. 

7. Requests for Refunds. The examination 
fee may be refunded only if an applicant is 
found to be ineligible to take the clinical 
examination. The $50 application fee is non­
refundable, and a penalty fee will be charged 
for all returned checks. 

CLINICAL EXAMINATION
 
Each candidate must pass a clinical 
examination which includes an examination of a 
patient and complete scaling and root planing of 
one or two quadrants.  Refer to the separate 
Clinical Examination Information document for 
detailed information about the examination. 

FACILITIES
 
When available, the rental of equipment and 
radiological services is an accommodation 
provided by the dental school. It is not 
obligatory and may be suspended at any time 
by the school. The schools at their discretion 
may charge fees for supplies or services. 
DHCC derives no benefit from the rental of 
such equipment and services, and assumes 
no responsibility for any arrangement made 
between a school and the candidate. 

Examinations may be conducted each year in 
three locations at the following dental schools: 
(Schedule of examinations is provided in a 
separate listing) 

University of California, San Francisco 
School of Dentistry 
707 Parnassus Avenue 
San Francisco, CA 94143 
(415) 476-1778 

University of Southern California 
School of Dentistry 
925 West 34th Street 
Los Angeles, CA 90007 
(213) 740-3564 

University of the Pacific 
School of Dentistry 
2155 W ebster Street 
San Francisco, CA  94115 
(415) 929-6445 

Since accommodations, facilities and equipment 
vary at each school, candidates may wish to 
acquaint themselves with the premises and 
equipment available prior to the examination. 
Schools are not responsible for patient 
procurement or answering questions on patient 
acceptability. 

RESULTS OF THE EXAMINATION
 
The results of the examination will be mailed in 
approximately six (6) weeks. 
Effective January 1, 2013 
After successful completion of the clinical and 
written law and ethics examination, you will be 
mailed an application to apply for your license. 
The license application fee is $100.00. Licenses 
will NOT be issued without criminal history 
clearance from the Department of Justice and the 
Federal Bureau of Investigations. 

California law requires all licensees to have a U.S. 
Social Security number before a license will be 
issued. 
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