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 APPLICATION INFORMATION 
 CALIFORNIA REGISTERED DENTAL HYGIENIST (RDH) 
                                             LICENSURE BY CREDENTIAL (12/12) 
  
Registered Dental Hygienists (RDHs) are 
licensed in California by the Dental Hygiene 
Committee of California (DHCC).   
 
Applicants who are licensed or registered as a 
Dental Hygienist in another state may qualify to 
receive Licensure by Credential if all of the 
requirements in this document are met.  The 
applicant is not required to take the California 
clinical exam if found to be qualified. 
 
Temporary permits to practice prior to receiving 
a license cannot be issued.  Dental hygiene 
education and licensure in another country is 
not recognized in California.   
 
IT IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE TO PRACTICE 
DENTAL HYGIENE IN CALIFORNIA WITHOUT 
FIRST RECEIVING AN RDH LICENSE. 
 
Use the application checklist as you 
complete the RDH - LBC application. 
 
1.  Application. All information requested must 
be supplied with the application and each 
question must be answered fully, truthfully and 
accurately.  A false statement is a crime, and 
grounds for denial of licensure. Only complete 
applications will be processed. 
 
California law requires all licensees to 
provide a federal Social Security number.   
A license will not be issued to any applicant 
until this information is provided. 
 
2. Fees. Each application must be 
accompanied by a non-refundable application 
fee of $50 and initial licensure fee of $100.00. 
Make $150.00 cashier check, check or money 
order payable to DHCC. 
 
3.  Live Scan Fingerprinting.  All applicants 
must have their fingerprints scanned in 
California. (See enclosure "Fingerprint 
Scanning Required.")  Payment for 
fingerprinting will be made directly to the Live 
Scan operator. 
 
4.  Non-Refundable Fees. The fees are non-
refundable, and a fee will be charged for all 
returned checks. 

 
5.  Criminal History Background 
Investigation. A license cannot be issued 
until the Dental Hygiene Committee of 
California has received and reviewed criminal 
background information from both the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation and the California 
Department of Justice. This process can take 
much longer if a criminal history does exist. 
 
From this point forward, the numbering on this 
application information will match each 
question on the LBC application. 
 
7.  Graduation from an Accredited Dental 
Hygiene Program. Applicants must have 
graduated from a dental hygiene program 
accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation. The applicant MUST submit a 
copy of the dental hygiene graduation diploma 
with the application. 
 
8.  Licensure in Another State(s). Each 
applicant must provide proof of a current and 
active license as a registered dental hygienist 
issued by another state that is not revoked, 
suspended, or otherwise restricted.  
 
A license certification must be submitted for 
each state in which the applicant is, or ever 
was, licensed. A certification is required 
regardless of the status of the license. The 
license certifications must accompany the 
application. 
 
Complete Item #8 on the application fully, and 
submit with the application an original license 
certification from each State listed. You may 
use DHCC’s license certification form however 
we do accept other states’ certification forms 
as long as the state seal is applied. 
 
9a.  California Clinical Examination.  An 
applicant who has failed the California clinical 
examination or WREB within the last five 
years, or failed the examination more than 
once 5 or more years ago, is not qualified to 
be issued a license through Licensure by 
Credential. 
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9b.  National Board Written Exam.  Each 
applicant must submit original documentation of 
passing the Dental Hygiene National Board 
Written Examination. The original scorecard 
must accompany the application. 
 
 
9c.  Passage of State or Regional Clinical 
Exam. Each applicant must have successfully 
passed a state or regional clinical licensure 
exam. If this information is not provided on a 
License Certification submitted pursuant to Item 
8, a separate certification from the State or 
regional examining agency is required. 
  
10.  Continuing Education. Each applicant 
must submit original documentation of 
completion of a minimum of 25 units of 
continuing education (CE) earned in the two 
years preceding the application.   
 
The CE must include completion of California 
mandatory coursework in Basic Life Support 
for health care providers approved by the 
American Heart Association, American Red 
Cross or Pace, 2 hours of California Dental 
Practice Act and 2 hours of Infection Control. 
The mandatory coursework must be offered by 
a California Board-approved provider.  
 
Original documents issued by the continuing 
education provider must contain the applicant’s 
name and the number of hours of the course. 
 
11.  Completion of California Board-
approved courses.  Certificates of completion 
of the following California Board-approved 
courses must be submitted on approved forms: 
   
          (1) periodontal soft tissue curettage;  
          (2) administration of local anesthetic         
             agents; and,  
          (3) administration of nitrous oxide and      
             oxygen. 
 
Approved courses are currently provided by 
J Production located in Northern California. 
(916-801-7170). 
 
Graduates of dental hygiene educational 
programs located outside of California also 
submit a completed radiation safety certification 
form in order for the applicant to legally expose 
dental radiographs in California.  
  

12. Clinical Practice and/or Full-Time 
Faculty Experience. Each applicant must 
supply proof of certain clinical practice and/or 
employment as a full-time dental hygiene 
faculty member to qualify for licensure.  
 
12a.  Clinical Practice. To qualify under this 
requirement, the applicant must supply proof 
that he or she has been in clinical practice as 
a registered dental hygienist for a minimum of 
750 hours per year for at least five years 
immediately preceding the date of his or her 
application. The applicant must supply one or 
more completed Certification of Dental 
Hygiene Clinical Practice (LBC-Clinical 
Practice Cert. (Rev. 1/11)) covering all of the 
required experience, signed by the custodian 
of records of the applicant’s qualifying 
business(es).  The Certification(s) must 
contain original signatures, and be signed 
under penalty of perjury. 
 
If the applicant has worked as a full-time 
faculty member in a dental hygiene program, 
that experience can be substituted for clinical 
practice on a year-for-year basis – see  
section 12b below. The program director or 
dean may complete the form. 
 
If the applicant has a contract to practice in 
certain facilities in California, up to two years 
of such intended practice can be substituted 
for up to two years of the required clinical 
experience (see section 12c below).   
 
12b.  Full-Time Faculty Experience.  To 
qualify under this requirement, the applicant 
must supply proof of being a full-time faculty 
member in an accredited dental hygiene 
education program for a minimum of 750 
hours per year for at least five years 
immediately preceding the date of his or her 
application. 
 
The applicant must supply a copy of the 
employment contract(s) covering all of the 
required employment.  
 
Full-time dental hygiene clinical practice can 
be substituted for full-time teaching experience 
 – see section 12 above. 
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12c.  Contract to Practice in Certain 
California Facilities. To qualify under this 
requirement, the applicant must supply proof 
that he or she  
 
• was in full-time clinical practice as a dental 

hygienist for a minimum of 750 hours per 
years for at least three years immediately 
preceding the date of the application (see 
11 above),   

                                    AND 
• commits to completing the remaining two 

years of clinical practice by filing with the 
DHCC a copy of a pending contract to 
practice dental hygiene in any of the 
following facilities (a description and a list of 
the facilities is contained in other application 
materials): 

 -  A primary care clinic licensed under 
subdivision (a) of Section 1204 of the 
Health and Safety Code.  

 
- A primary care clinic exempt from 
licensure pursuant to subdivision (c) of 
Section 1206 of the Health and Safety 
Code. 

  
- A clinic owned or operated by a public 
hospital or health system. 

  
-  A clinic owned and operated by a 
hospital that maintains the primary 
contract with a county government to fill 
the county's role under Section 17000 of 
the Welfare and Institutions Code. 

 
The applicant must provide a copy of the 
pending employment contract to work in one of 
the facilities listed above, in addition to 
supplying the required proof of three years of 
clinical practice. 
 
The applicant must continue to work in one of 
the facilities listed above, and compliance will 
be closely monitored. Failure to meet the two 
year requirement in one of the facilities listed 
above will result in disciplinary action. 
 
Examples of Acceptable Combinations of 
Employment.  Following is a list of the various 
types of combinations of experience that will be 
acceptable among the three types mentioned in 
12, 12a, and 12b, above. 
 

a.  Five years of full-time experience in clinical 
practice. 
 
b.  Five years of experience as a full-time 
faculty member in a dental hygiene program. 
 
c.  Any combination of experience specified in 
12 and 12a above, e.g., 1 year of clinical 
practice and 4 years of full-time teaching; 4 
years of clinical experience and 1 year of full-
time teaching; etc. 
 
d.  At least three years of experience in clinical 
practice and a contract and commitment to 
practice for at least 2 years in facilities 
specified in 12b above. 
 
13.  Spouse of active duty member 
stationed in California.  If you are married to, 
or in a domestic partnership or other legal union 
with, an active duty member of the Armed Forces 
of the United States who is assigned to a duty 
station in California under official “Active Duty” 
military orders, you must provide the following 
documentation:                                                       

• Proof of Active Duty Orders, of the active 
military member.  

• Proof of marriage, domestic partnership or 
legal union.  

Proof of current “Registered Dental Hygienist” 
licensure in another state, district, territory of the 
United States is required.     
 
14.  Disciplinary Actions.  Answer all 
questions completely and truthfully. A 
disciplinary action in another state, or a false 
statement concerning such action, may be 
grounds for license denial. 
 
15.  Criminal Convictions. Answer this 
section completely and truthfully. A criminal 
conviction, or a false statement concerning 
such event, may be grounds for license denial. 
 
16.  Execution of Application.  The 
application must be signed and dated, and 
properly executed. The applicant signs the 
application under penalty of perjury. The 
application will be returned if it is not properly 
executed. 
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