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Application for Approval of Course in
Local Anesthesia, Nitrous Oxide-Oxygen Analgesia and Periodontal Soft Tissue
Curettage Business & Professions Code §1909, Fitle-16 CCR §1107.ane-51108-

Non-Refundable Fee: $300 (Must

accompany application) Receipt RC
Date filed $
Approved Denied
RP#
Course Provider Phone Number

Email Address

Name and Title of Course Director

Affiliated Dental Hygiene or Dental Program

Mailing Address of Course Provider* City State Zip

Clinical Facility Address (if different from above) City State Zip

address and be sure to spec@ that the physical address is not to be used as the address of record

Requrrements for Course

- A course must be approved prior to
operation. Each approved course must submit a blennral report Course records shall be subject to
inspection by the Committee at any time. The Committee may withdraw approval at any time that it
determines that a course does not meet the requirements of the law. Course providers must inform the
Committee of any changes to course content, faculty and physical facilities within 10 days.

1. Will the course provide instruction in administration of local anesthetic agents limited to the oral cavity,
administration of nitrous oxide-oxygen used as an analgesic utilizing fail-safe type machines containing no
other general anesthetic agents, and periodontal soft tissue curettage? Include a copy of your curriculum.

|:|Yes |:|No

2. Will the course be established at or affiliated-contracted with a California dental or dental hygiene school?
Include your written contractaffiiatien-and if applicable, the extramural site agreement.
|:|Yes |:|No
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3. Course Faculty Information

Name License License License Date of
Type # Expiration Teaching
Educational

Methodology

Course director and aliclinical and preclinical faculty must possess a valid, active California license for at least two
years. If faculty listed above has ever been licensed in another state or territory to practice dental hygiene
or dentistry, a license certification is required. Attach copies of each license and proof of education in
educational methodology for all faculty and faculty calibration plan.

4. Will there be a lecture classroom, patient clinic areas and radiology area ard-taberatery for use by students?
Attach a facility site map indicating each of these areas.
|:|Yes |:|No

5. Will all students have access to equipment necessary to develop dental hygiene skills in the duties being

taught? Attach a list.
|:|Yes |:|No

6. Will all students have access to the hazardous waste management plan for disposal of needles, cartridges,
medical waste, storage of nitrous oxide and oxygen tanks and the course’s clinic and radiation hazardous
communication plan? Attach a copy of both the hazardous waste management and hazardous communication

plan.
|:|Yes |:|No

7. Will all students receive a copy of the bloodborne and infectious diseases exposure control plan, including
the emergency needlestick information? Attach a copy as provided to students.
|:|Yes |:|No

8. Will the course clearly state curriculum subject matter, specific instruction hours in the individual areas of
didactic, pre-clinical and clinical instruction, and include written course and specific instructional learning
outcomes that will be accomplished within the framework of the course, including theoretical aspects of each
subject as well as practical application in accordance with Title 16, California Code of Regulations §1107 and
8§4108-and a copy be provided to students? Attach a copy of curriculum, including student evaluation
mechanism and remediation policy and procedures.

|:|Yes |:|No

9. Will the course’s be-efsufficient-duration allow aferthe student to develop competence in administration of
local anesthesia, administration of nitrous oxide-oxygen analgesia, and performance of periodontal soft tissue
curettage? Attach a course schedule.

|:|Yes |:|No
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10. Will instruction in periodontal soft tissue curettage total at least 6 hours including at least 3 hours of didactics
laberatery andfer pre-clinical instruction and at least 3 hours of clinical instruction that includes a minimum of 3
(three) clinical experiences on three different patients of which only one may be on another student?

|:|Yes |:|No

11. Will instruction in the administration of local anesthetic agents total at least 30 hours, including at
least 15 hours of didactic hedts-ettlaberatery andfer pre-clinical and at least 15 hours of clinical instruction

that includes a minimum of 32 preclinical experiences per injection, which may be on another student and
4 clinical experiences on threefour different patients of which only one may be on another student?

|:|Yes |:|No

12. Will instruction in the administration of nitrous oxide-oxygen total at least 8 hours including at least 4 hours of
didactictaberatery and ef pre-clinical instruction and 4 hours of clinical instruction that includes a minimum of 3
clinical experiences on 3 different patients of which only one may be on another student?

|:|Yes |:|No

13. Specify the total number of tetal hours for all three areas within the course that will be taught in the

categories listed below:

Didactic Pre-clinical

Laberatory Clinical

14. Will continuing education (CE) be offered for this course? If yes, provide your California continuing
education provider number below.

|:|Yes |:|No

Recordkeeping

15. Will you retain for at least 5 years copies of curriculum, syllabi, exams, sample test questions, anddab
and clinic rubrics, copies of faculty credentials, faculty calibration plan and individual student records
includingand-evaluations and summations thereof pursuant to Title 16, California Code of Regulations

§4108-4H1107(b)(6)?-
|:|Yes |:|No

16. Will each student be issued a certificate of successful completion after achievement of a minimum of
75% in each clinical competency and has been deemed competent in each of the 3 (three) procedures?

|:|Yes |:|N0

Acknowledgement

17. Have you reviewed Business & Professions Code 81909 and _Title 16, Division 11 of the California Code
of Regulations §1005;and-—§1107-and-51108?
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|:|Yes |:|No

18. Do you agree to abide by the requirements set forth in Business & Professions Code §1909, and Title
16, Division 11 of the California Code of Regulations §-1005and §1107-ard-541087 Do you acknowledge
that failure to do so may result in loss of course approval?

|:|Yes |:|No

The Committee may approve or deny approval of any course. If the Committee denies approval of a
course, the reasons for denial will be provided in writing within 90 days.

Certification

| certify under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Callforma that the statements made in
the application are true and correct=a

the-Commitiee.

Signature of Course Director or designee Date

Printed Name of Course Director or designee

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS

The information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Hygiene Committee of
California, 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1050, Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-1978,
in accordance with Business & Professions Code, 81900 et seq. The information requested will be used
to determine eligibility. Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the
rejection of the application as incomplete. Each individual has the right to review thehis or her own
personal information maintained by the agency as set forth in the Information Practices Act unless the
records are exempt from disclosure. Applicants are advised that the names(s) and address(es) submitted
may, under limited circumstances, be made public.
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