
 

 

  

 
 

     
 

   
 

   
  

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

  
 
 

   
 
                          

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

  
 

   

  
 

 
 
 

  
 
 

 
 
 

                                             

 

                

 
  

     
  

       
  

 
     

    

      

 
   

 

      

   
   

 
 
 
 
 

 

  
              

       

     

     

   

  


 

 

Dental Hygiene Committee of California 

2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1050, Sacramento, CA  95815 
P 916-263.1978 F  916.263.2688  | www.dhcc.ca.gov 

Application for Approval of Course in 
Local Anesthesia, Nitrous Oxide-Oxygen Analgesia and Periodontal Soft Tissue Curettage 

Business & Professions Code §1909, Title 16 CCR §1107.and §1108. 

Non-Refundable Fee: $300 (Must accompany
 
application)
 Receipt RC 

Date filed $ 

Approved Denied 

RP# 

Course Provider 

Name and Title of Course Director 

Affiliated Dental Hygiene or Dental Program 

Phone Number /Email Address 

Mailing Address of Course Provider City State Zip 

Clinical Facility Address (if different from above) City State Zip 

Requirements for Course 
All questions must be answered “Yes” for a course to be approved.  A course must be approved prior to operation.  
Each approved course must submit a biennial report. Course records shall be subject to inspection by the 
Committee at any time.  The Committee may withdraw approval at any time that it determines that a course does 
not meet the requirements of the law. Course providers must inform the Committee of any changes to course 
content, faculty and physical facilities within 10 days. 

1. W ill the course provide instruction in administration of local anesthetic agents limited to the oral cavity,  

administration of nitrous oxide-oxygen used as an analgesic utilizing fail-safe type machines containing no other 

general anesthetic agents, and periodontal soft tissue curettage? Include a copy of your curriculum. 

Yes No 

2. W ill the course be established at or affiliated with a California dental or dental hygiene school?  Include your 

written affiliation and if applicable, the extramural site agreement. 

Yes No 
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3. Course Faculty Information 

Name License 

Type 

License # License 

Expiration 

Date of Teaching 

Methodology 

Course director and all faculty must possess a valid, active California license for at least two years. Attach copies 
of each license and proof of education in educational methodology and faculty calibration plan. 

4. W ill there be a lecture classroom, patient clinic area, radiology area and laboratory for use by students? Attach a 
facility site map indicating each of these areas. 

Yes No 

5. W ill all students have access to equipment necessary to develop dental hygiene skills in the duties being 
taught? Attach a list. 

Yes No 

6. W ill all students have access to the hazardous waste management plan for disposal of needles, cartridges, 
medical waste, storage of nitrous oxide and oxygen tanks and the course’s clinic and radiation hazardous 
communication plan? Attach a copy of both the hazardous waste management and hazardous communication plan. 

Yes No 

7. W ill all students receive a copy of the bloodborne and infectious diseases exposure control plan, including the 
emergency needlestick information? Attach a copy as provided to students. 

Yes No 

8. W ill the course clearly state curriculum subject matter, specific instruction hours in the individual areas of 

didactic, pre-clinical and clinical instruction, and include written course and specific instructional learning 

outcomes that will be accomplished within the framework of the course, including theoretical aspects of each 

subject as well as practical application in accordance with California Code of Regulations §1107 and §1108 

and a copy be provided to students? Attach a copy of curriculum, including student evaluation mechanism 

and remediation policy and procedures. 

Yes No 

9. W ill the course be of sufficient duration for the student to develop competence in administration of local 
anesthesia, administration of nitrous oxide-oxygen analgesia, and periodontal soft tissue curettage? Attach a 
course schedule. 

Yes No 

10. Will instruction in periodontal soft tissue curettage total at least 6 hours including at least 3 hours of didactic, 
laboratory and/or pre-clinical instruction and at least 3 hours of clinical instruction that includes a minimum of 3 
(three) clinical experiences on three different patients of which only one may be on a student? 

Yes No 
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11. Will instruction in the administration of local anesthetic agents total at least 30 hours, including at least 15 
hours of didactic hours of laboratory and/or pre-clinical and at least 15 hours of clinical instruction that includes a 
minimum of 3 clinical experiences on three different patients of which only one may be on a student? 

Yes No 

12. Will instruction in the administration of nitrous oxide-oxygen total at least 8 hours including at least 4 hours of 
didactic, laboratory and or pre-clinical instruction and 4 hours of clinical instruction that includes a minimum of 3 
clinical experiences on 3 different patients of which only one may be a student? 

Yes No 

13. Specify the number of total hours within the course that will be taught in the categories listed below: 

Didactic Pre-clinical 

Laboratory Clinical 

14. Will continuing education (CE) be offered for this course? If yes, provide your California continuing education 
provider number below. 

Yes No 

Recordkeeping 

15.  Will you retain for at least 5 years copies of curriculum, sample test questions and lab and clinic rubrics, copies 
of faculty credentials and individual student records and evaluations pursuant to California Code of Regulations 
§1108 (f). 

Yes No 

16.  Will each student be issued a certificate of successful completion after achievement of a minimum of 75% in 
each clinical competency and has been deemed competent in each of the 3 (three) procedures? 

Yes No 

Acknowledgement 
17. Have you reviewed Business & Professions Code §1909 and California Code of Regulations §1005, 
§1107 and §1108? 

Yes No 

18. Do you agree to abide by the requirements set forth in Business & Professions Code §1909, and 
California Code of Regulations § 1107, and §1108? Do you acknowledge that failure to do so may result in 
loss of course approval? 

Yes No 

The Committee may approve or deny approval of any course.  If the Committee denies approval of a course, the 
reasons for denial will be provided in writing within 90 days. 
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Certification 
I certify under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the statements made in the 
application are true and correct, and that all courses offered will meet the requirements set forth by the Committee. 

Signature of Course Director or designee Date 

Printed Name of Course Director or designee 

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS 

The information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Hygiene Committee of California, 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1050, Sacramento, CA 95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-1978, in accordance with 
Business & Professions Code, §1900 et seq. The information requested will be used to determine eligibility. Failure 
to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. 
Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the records are 
exempt from disclosure. Applicants are advised that the names(s) and address(es) submitted may, under limited 
circumstances, be made public. 
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