
 

 

 

 

 
 

     
 

     
 

  
   

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

  
 

  
 
  

 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

   
 

  
 

 
 
 

  
 
 

 
 
 

                                                           

      
        

 
 

  
  
    

  
 

    

     

    

 
   

 

     

   
   

 
 

     

      
              

       

     

     

   

  

                

Application for Approval of Course in 

D E N T A L H Y G I E N E C O M M I T T E E O F C A L I F O R N I A 

2005 Evergreen Street Suite 1050, Sacramento, CA 95815 
P (916) 263-1978 | F (916) 263-1978 | www.dhcc.ca.gov 

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY • GOVERNOR EDMUND G. BROWN JR. 

Local Anesthesia, Nitrous Oxide-Oxygen Analgesia and Periodontal Soft Tissue 
Curettage Business & Professions Code §1909, Title 16 CCR §1107.and §1108. 

Non-Refundable Fee: $300 (Must 
accompany application) Receipt RC 

Date filed $ 

Approved Denied 

RP# 

Course Provider Phone Number 
, 

Email Address 

Name and Title of Course Director 

Affiliated Dental Hygiene or Dental Program 

Mailing Address of Course Provider* City State Zip 

Clinical Facility Address (if different from above) City State Zip 

*Course provider mailing address is public. If you wish to provide a P.O. Box, you must also provide a physical 
address and be sure to specify that the physical address is not to be used as the address of record. 

Requirements for Course 
All questions must be answered “Yes” for a course to be approved. A course must be approved prior to 
operation. Each approved course must submit a biennial report. Course records shall be subject to 
inspection by the Committee at any time.  The Committee may withdraw approval at any time that it 
determines that a course does not meet the requirements of the law.  Course providers must inform the 
Committee of any changes to course content, faculty and physical facilities within 10 days. 

1. Will the course provide instruction in administration of local anesthetic agents limited to the oral cavity,  

administration of nitrous oxide-oxygen used as an analgesic utilizing fail-safe type machines containing no 

other general anesthetic agents, and periodontal soft tissue curettage? Include a copy of your c urriculum. 

Yes No 

2. Will the course be established at or affiliated contracted with a California dental or dental hygiene school?  

Include your written contractaffiliation and if applicable, the extramural site agreement. 

Yes No 
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3. Course Faculty Information 

Name License 

Type 

License 

# 

License 

Expiration 

Date of 

Teaching 

Educational 

Methodology 

Course director and allclinical and preclinical faculty must possess a valid, active California license for at least two 
years. Attach copies of each license and proof of education in educational methodology for all faculty and faculty 
calibration plan. 

4. Will there be a lecture classroom, patient clinic area, and radiology area and laboratory for use by students?  
Attach a facility site map indicating each of these areas. 

Yes No 

5. Will all students have access to equipment necessary to develop dental hygiene skills in the duties being 
taught? Attach a list. 

Yes No 

6. Will all students have access to the hazardous waste management plan for disposal of needles, cartridges, 
medical waste, storage of nitrous oxide and oxygen tanks and the course’s clinic and radiation hazardous 
communication plan? Attach a copy of both the hazardous waste management and hazardous communication 
plan. 

Yes No 

7. Will all students receive a copy of the bloodborne and infectious diseases exposure control plan, including 
the emergency needlestick information? Attach a copy as provided to students. 

Yes No 

8. Will the course clearly state curriculum subject matter, specific instruction hours in the individual areas of 

didactic, pre-clinical and clinical instruction, and include written course and specific instructional learning 

outcomes that will be accomplished within the framework of the course, including theoretical aspects of each 

subject as well as practical application in accordance with Title 16, California Code of Regulations §1107 and 

§1108 and a copy be provided to students? Attach a copy of curriculum, including student evaluation 

mechanism and remediation policy and procedures. 

Yes No 

9. Will the course’s be of sufficient duration allow afor the student to develop competence in administration of 
local anesthesia, administration of nitrous oxide-oxygen analgesia, and performance of periodontal soft tissue 
curettage? Attach a course schedule. 

Yes No 
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§1108 (f)1107(b)(6)?. 

10. Will instruction in periodontal soft tissue curettage total at least 6 hours including at least 3 hours of didactic, 
laboratory and/or pre-clinical instruction and at least 3 hours of clinical instruction that includes a minimum of 3 
(three) clinical experiences on three different patients of which only one may be on another student? 

Yes No 

11. Will instruction in the administration of local anesthetic agents total at least 30 hours, including at 

least 15 hours of didactic hours of laboratory and/or pre-clinical and at least 15 hours of clinical instruction 

that includes a minimum of 32 preclinical experiences per injection, which may be on another student and 

4 clinical experiences on threefour different patients of which only one may be on another student? 

Yes No 

12. Will instruction in the administration of nitrous oxide-oxygen total at least 8 hours including at least 4 hours of 
didactic, laboratory and or pre-clinical instruction and 4 hours of clinical instruction that includes a minimum of 3 
clinical experiences on 3 different patients of which only one may be on another student? 

Yes No 

13. Specify the total number of total hours for all three areas within the course that will be taught in the 
categories listed below: 

Didactic Pre-clinical 

Laboratory Clinical 

education provider number below. 
14. Will continuing education (CE) be offered for this course? If yes, provide your California continuing 

___________________ 

Yes No 

Recordkeeping 

15.  Will you retain for at least 5 years copies of curriculum, syllabi, exams, sample test questions, and lab 
and clinic rubrics, copies of faculty credentials, faculty calibration plan and individual student records 
includingand evaluations and summations thereof pursuant to Title 16, California Code of Regulations 

Yes No 

16.  Will each student be issued a certificate of successful completion after achievement of a minimum of 
75% in each clinical competency and has been deemed competent in each of the 3 (three) procedures? 

Yes No 

Acknowledgement 
17. Have you reviewed Business & Professions Code §1909  and Title 16, California Code of Regulations 
§1005, and §1107 and §1108? 

Yes No 
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18. Do you agree to abide by the requirements set forth in Business & Professions Code §1909, and Title 
16, California Code of Regulations § 1005 and §1107 and §1108? Do you acknowledge that failure to do 
so may result in loss of course approval? 

Yes No 

The Committee may approve or deny approval of any course.  If the Committee denies approval of a 
course, the reasons for denial will be provided in writing within 90 days. 

Certification 
I certify under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the statements made in 
the application are true and correct, and that all courses offered will meet the requirements set forth by 
the Committee. 

Signature of Course Director or designee Date 

Printed Name of Course Director or designee 

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS 

The information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Dental Hygiene Committee of 
California, 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1050, Sacramento, CA  95815, Executive Officer, 916-263-1978, 
in accordance with Business & Professions Code, §1900 et seq. The information requested will be used 
to determine eligibility. Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the 
rejection of the application as incomplete. Each individual has the right to review thehis or her own 
personal information maintained by the agency as set forth in the Information Practices Act unless the 
records are exempt from disclosure. Applicants are advised that the names(s) and address(es) submitted 
may, under limited circumstances, be made public. 

4 

DHCC SLN-01 (059/2013) 


