- Committee Meetings
- Regulatory Hearings
- Laws and Regulations
- License Verification
- License Renewal Information
- Electronic Fingerprint Requirement Information
- How to Become Licensed?
- Educational Programs and Courses
- 2015 DHCC Clinical Exam Schedule
- RDH Examination Recorders
- DHCC Newsletters
- DHCC Strategic Plan
- Sponsored Free Healthcare Event Info
- California Dental Board
- Join Our Mailing List
- DHCC's Customer Satisfaction Survey
- DHCC Survey Data
Welcome to the new Dental Hygiene Committee of California (DHCC) web site. We are proud and excited that DHCC is the first of its kind in the United States.
The DHCC will consist of nine members appointed by the Governor; four public members, one practicing dentist and four dental hygienists. The responsibilities of DHCC include issuing, reviewing, and revoking licenses as well as developing and administering examinations. Additional functions include adopting regulations, determining fees and continuing education requirements for all hygiene licensure categories.
As of April 1, 2014, the Dental Hygiene Committee of California has moved to a new office. Same building, different suite!
Our new address is:
Dental Hygiene Committee of California
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2050
Sacramento, CA 95815
ATTENTION LICENSEES: License Renewal Information
License renewals are sent to the address of record 45-60 days in advance of your license expiration. Complete the license renewal application and renewal survey in full and check for accuracy and completeness. Any required items that are incomplete will delay the processing of your renewal. Once complete, send the license renewal, renewal survey, and check or money order payment in the appropriate amount all together, as separately sent items will delay the processing of your renewal and it will not update.
We suggest that you submit the items above immediately after receipt, as it can take 4-6 weeks to process your license renewal. If your license does not update, it is illegal to practice with an expired license and further action may be taken against you. It is the licensee’s responsibility to ensure they have a valid license to practice. You can check your license’s status on our Home Page of the website under the License Verification tab.
ATTENTION APPLICANTS: Application for licensure information
Please be sure to submit all required application items all at once to process your application. Any missing item(s) will result in your application being returned. Application information on our website can be found under the “Applicant” tab or in the “How to Become Licensed” link in the Quick Hits section on the Home Page.
The DHCC now has a General Email Inbox to contact staff about any DHCC issues. Please submit your inquiries or issues to: email@example.com
At this time, dental hygiene licenses and permits cannot be renewed online.