- Hygiene Survey Data
- DHCC's Customer Satisfaction Survey
- Electronic Fingerprint Requirement Information
- Join Our Email List
- New DHCC Committee Members
- 2013 Examination Schedules
- License Renewal Information
- California Dental Board
- How to Become Licensed?
- FNP Application and Requirements
- Committee Meetings
- Regulatory Hearings
- License Verification
- Laws and Regulations
- Educational Programs and Courses
- RDH Examination Recorders
- Committee Newsletters
- Strategic Plan
Renewals and License Maintenance
The DHCC issues and renews all Registered Dental Hygienist, Registered Dental Hygienist in Alternative Practice and Registered Dental Hygienist in Extended Functions licenses.
Following is information about:
Renewal of Licenses
Expired and Cancelled Licenses
Continuing Education Requirements
Change of Address or Name
Required and Prohibited Licensee Conduct
The Dental Hygiene Committee of CA (DHCC) renews all California dental hygiene licenses.
Each licensee must renew their license every two years by the last day of the month of their birthday.
As a courtesy, renewal notices are sent about 60 days prior to expiration, but the licensee is ultimately responsible for renewing his or her license. It takes 4- 6 weeks to process renewal applications.
IT IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE TO PERFORM LICENSED DUTIES WITH AN EXPIRED, CANCELLED, OR INACTIVE LICENSE!
The status of a particular license (but not the status of applicants until they are actually licensed) can also be checked on the internet by visiting our license status web page.
The two-year renewal fee is $80. If the required renewal fee is not postmarked on or before the date of expiration, the license is expired. If the license is renewed more than 30 days after its expiration, a $40 delinquency fee will be required before the license will be renewed.
Dishonored checks will be charged a $15 fee, which must also be submitted before the license will be renewed.
On the renewal form, the licensee must certify, under penalty of perjury, whether the license is being renewed in an active or inactive status, or if it is the first time renewing. You must answer the conviction disclosure question and survey. NO continuing education units are required for the first renewal period. For information about continuing education requirements, go to the Continuing Education section below.
A license that has been expired for more than five years is automatically cancelled, and cannot be renewed, reinstated restored or reissued. The holder of a cancelled certificate must apply as a first time applicant for RDH Licensure.
A licensee can place their license on inactive status, which means that he or she must continue to pay their renewal fee, but is not required to complete the required continuing education requirements. A license can be renewed with an inactive status indefinitely.
How To Activate A License
To activate an inactive license at the time of renewal, a licensee must have completed the required continuing education (CE) within the prior two-year renewal period, and certify as such by marking the appropriate box on the renewal application.
To activate an inactive license at any other time during the renewal cycle, a licensee must complete the Inactive/Active Form and attach copies of all CE taken within 2 years of the request to activate the license, return the original inactive pocket license, and attach a $25 fee.
A licensee who has not practiced in California for more than one year because he or she is disabled is not required to comply with the continuing education requirements during the renewal period within which such disability falls. However, the licensee must pay the required renewal fee.
The licensee must certify that he or she is eligible for a waiver of the continuing education requirements due to a disability, by submitting a statement from their medical provider that includes the dates of the disability. The licensee must also provide a statement that he or she did not practice as a licensed auxiliary during the period of the disability.
There is a charge of $25 for a duplicate pocket license, and an additional $25 charge for a duplicate wall license.
Your request must be submitted in writing with the form, appropriate fees, and your existing pocket license and/or wall license, as appropriate, or provide a statement signed under penalty of perjury that it has been lost, stolen, or misplaced.
If you are requesting a name change at the same time, you must submit the form, appropriate documentation, such as a marriage license, divorce decree, or court order, showing the name change.
For a letter certifying an auxiliary's license status, commonly referred to as a "license certification," you must submit a form, with a $25 fee.
By law, all licensees are required to report a change of email address and physical address within 30 days. Failure to do so may result in a fine. You can change your address and email address by submitting a form to DHCC at 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1050, Sacramento, CA 95815, or fax (916) 263-2688.
Current law requires licensees to report a change in their legal name within 10 days. Failure to do so may result in a fine. To request a name change, you must submit a form, legal documentation, such as a court order, marriage certificate or naturalization certificate. A social security card or driverís license is not acceptable documentation.
If you also wish to receive a new pocket identification card or wall certificate reflecting the name change, you must return the original issued pocket and wall certificate, pay the $25.00 fee for each license and follow the procedures above for "Duplicate Licenses." If you wish to wait for your next renewal pocket identification card to be issued to avoid the $25 charge, you may do so.
Visit our Acts and Conduct web page for information on the acts and conduct which auxiliaries are required to perform.